how many music awards has L-tido won?

L-Tido performs his hit single “Dlala Ka Yona” on Afternoon Express.

Thato Madonsela , known by his stage name L-Tido, is a hip hop recording artist from Alexandra, Johannesburg. Best known for being one of few independent artists  in the country to reach commercial success, he won the Best Newcomer in Africa Award at the 2010 Channel O Music Video Awards – an honour he received without having released an album  – and receiving numerous other award nominations.

L-Tido’s music career began in 2009 when he self-released, self-marketed and hand-to-hand distributed his mix-tape City of Gold, which received a lot of acclaim, with a number of original songs from the mix tape getting playlisted on several radio stations and topping numerous radio & music video charts. The success of the mixtape lead to award nominations and the winning of Channel O’s Most Gifted Newcomer Award.

L-Tido biography: L-Tido is a recording artist from South Africa.

L- Tido Age, Career and Awards.

L-Tido was born on 30th January, 1982 in Alexandra, South Africa.

L-Tido’s birth name is Thato Lloyd Madonsela.



L-Tido gained interest in music when his friend and fellow artist, Sean Pages exposed him to music at a young age. His first release was his mixtape City of Gold which garnered success in his country. His albums since then include All or Nothing released in 2011 and All of Me released in 2013. L-Tido was the first South African artist to be part of the campaign to promote the second season of the MTV award-winning youth drama Shuga. He has worked with several notable artists including Casper Nyovest and Morale from South Africa and other artists in Africa including Banky W, Wizkid, Camp Mulla and Sarkodie.

L-Tido won the Best Newcomer in Africa award at the 2010 Channel O Music Video Awards. He has been nominated severally such as when he received a Channel O nomination for Best Video, a Metro FM award nomination for “We Rollin” and a South African Music Award nomination for Best Hip Hop album in 2012.

Scroll to Top