Which team has more wins in South Africa?

Mamelodi Sundowns have been incredibly successful in the PSL era – dominating South African football since 1996.

But have they surpassed the country’s previously most decorated clubs, Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates?

Goal compares the PSL’s three clubs in terms of major trophies won since their respective formation:

Chiefs are the undisputed kings of South African cup competitions having amassed 41 trophies including a record 15 Top 8/MTN8 titles.

The Glamour Boys have also won more South African FA Cups/ Nedbank Cup (13) and League Cups/ Telkom Knockout (13) than any other club.

Their archrivals, Pirates are the second most successful team in the history of the Top 8 competition with 10 titles and they have also clinched the second-most FA Cups with eight trophies.

Pirates, who are the current MTN8 champions, have won just one League Cup having ended their long wait for their maiden trophy in 2011.

While Sundowns have clinched three Top 8 titles and five FA Cups including the 2020 Nedbank Cup following a win over Bloemfontein Celtic in the final.

Masandawana have won four League Cups making them the second most successful team in the history of the tournament after Chiefs.

The League Cup has since been removed from the football calendar after the PSL’s sponsorship deal with Telkom ended in 2019 and Sundowns are the last team to win it.

Scroll to Top