Who is the chairperson of the SAA Board?

Former minister of tourism Derek Hanekom has been appointed as interim non-executive director and chairperson of South African Airways (SAA).

Minister of Public Enterprises Pravin Gordhan made the announcement on Monday.

The department said the new SAA board is highly “skilled and diverse marking a significant step forward in the national carrier’s ongoing transformation”.

“This new interim board builds upon the foundations laid by the previous board and brings together an exceptional team of experts with experience across various fields.”

New board members

The other interim directors are finance professional Fathima Gany, former Airports Company of SA (Acsa) chief operating officer Fundi Sithebe, finance and business strategist Mahlubi Mazwi, corporate and compliance advocate Johannes Weapond, financial and corporate restructure expert Clarissa Appana, and economist and strategist Dumisani Sangweni.

The Public Enterprise Department said the interim board was effective from 15 April 2023 and will serve until the introduction of the strategic equity partner, Takatso Consortium.

“This distinguished and diverse team boasts expertise across various fields, including aviation, chartered accounting, corporate financial management, legal, human resources, economics, public policy, investment, and transactions.”

It said the primary focus areas of the interim board is to provide strategic leadership to the transitional management team and overseeing the integration of Takatso Consortium.

“The consortium is poised to acquire a 51% majority stake in SAA, with the transaction presently undergoing regulatory review.

“The interim board remains dedicated to tackling key priorities, including implementing cost-saving measures, expanding route networks, elevating customer satisfaction, and expediting all requisite regulatory preparations to ensure a seamless transition as the Takatso Consortium assumes its role as the majority shareholder,” it said.

Scroll to Top