Who won artist of the year 2023 VMA?

To answer the immortal words of returning VMAs emcee Nicki Minaj, “What’s good?” A lot at the MTV show this year — starting with the nominees. Taylor Swift led the pack with 9 wins, largely for her self-directed “Anti-Hero” video, and has a repeat Video of the Year win after taking the top award last year for her “All Too Well (Taylor’s Version)” short film. She’s now second to Beyoncé for most overall wins at the VMAs. Also among the top nominees: SZA, Doja Cat, Miley Cyrus, Minaj, Blackpink, and Olivia Rodrigo, many of whom will also be performing. It’s a banner year for women and nonbinary artists at the awards, who make up the entire slate of nominees for Video of the Year and Artist of the Year for the first time. Speaking of firsts, there’s also the debut of the Best Afrobeats category. And this year’s ceremony is set to present two lifetime achievement awards: the Video Vanguard Award to Shakira and the Global Icon Award to DiddyVideo of the Year
Doja Cat – “Attention”
Miley Cyrus – “Flowers”
Nicki Minaj – “Super Freaky Girl”
Olivia Rodrigo – “vampire”
Sam Smith, Kim Petras – “Unholy”
SZA – “Kill Bill”
Taylor Swift – “Anti-Hero”

Artist of the Year
Doja Cat
Nicki Minaj
Taylor Swift

Taylor Swift emerged the biggest winner of the night, earning nine awards, including Video of the Year, Song of the Year, and Best Pop, Best Direction, Best Cinematography, and Best Visual Effects all for “Anti-Hero,” Album of the Year for Midnights, plus Artist of the Year and Show of the Summer.

She became the first artist to win Video of the Year two years in a row, and extended her record for the most wins in that category to four, after previously winning for “Bad Blood,” “You Need to Calm Down,” and “All Too Well: The Short Film.”

Swift’s first award of the night was handed out by the reunited members of NSYNC, Justin Timberlake, Lance Bass, JC Chasez, Joey Fatone, and Chris Kirkpatrick. “You guys are pop personified so to receive this from your golden pop hands is really, it’s too much,” she told the boy banders.

Song of the Year
Miley Cyrus – “Flowers”
Olivia Rodrigo – “vampire”
Rema & Selena Gomez – “Calm Down”
Sam Smith, Kim Petras – “Unholy”
Steve Lacy – “Bad Habit”
SZA – “Kill Bill”
Taylor Swift – “Anti-Hero”

Best New Artist
Ice Spice
Peso Pluma
Reneé Rapp

Push Performance of the Year
Saucy Santana – “Booty”
Stephen Sanchez – “Until I Found You”
JVKE – “golden hour”
Flo Milli – “Conceited”
Reneé Rapp – “Colorado”
Sam Ryder – “All the Way Over”
Armani White – “GOATED”
FLETCHER – “Becky’s So Hot”
Ice Spice – “Princess Diana”
FLO – “Losing You”
Lauren Spencer Smith – “That Part”

Scroll to Top