Why was Diaz goal offside?

Luis Diaz’s goal for Liverpool at Tottenham was incorrectly disallowed for offside after the VAR mistakenly believed the on-field decision had been to award the goal.

  • Tottenham beat Liverpool 2-1 in a dramatic and fiery encounter in north London on Saturday
  • Luis Diaz saw his goal ruled out for offside in the first half despite him actually being onside
  • The PGMOL have released a statement and apologised to Liverpool for their error

Who would want to be a video assistant referee, eh? Well, Darren England certainly won’t want to be on duty for a fair while after his high-profile error came under justifiable scrutiny following Liverpool’s trip to Tottenham Hotspur on Saturday.

Tottenham beat nine-man Liverpool in north London on Saturday evening, a 2-1 victory that came courtesy of a last-minute Joel Matip own goal. Despite two red cards and a stoppage-time winner, there was another moment that had everybody talking after the final whistle.

Luis Diaz found the back of the net during the Reds’ defeat at Spurs in the first half, but saw his effort ruled out for offside. An all too brief VAR check led to no intervention, with Liverpool’s goal being chalked just before Tottenham went 1-0 up.

However, the PGMOL have since issued an apology, admitting Diaz’s goal should have stood. So, why was it disallowed

Fans watching from home were mystified as to why they were not shown the offside lines normally drawn by VAR for the Diaz goal, with a very quick check ensuring the on-field decision of no-goal stood.

However, apparently VAR England thought that referee Simon Hooper had awarded the goal on the pitch. When VAR then checked Diaz’s strike, they deemed it onside, with England telling Hooper that the check was complete.

By saying “check complete”, England was confirming to Hooper that his decision was correct, with the referee then restarting the game. However, the miscommunication and “significant human error” meant the wrong decision was ultimately given, with England thinking the goal had been awarded on the field.

Given play had restarted with a Tottenham free kick, Hooper was unable to go back and award the goal according to the rulebook as play had commenced.

Such an error seems almost comical in nature, with the PGMOL since apologising to Liverpool. However, that will come as little comfort to the Reds, who have arguably been cost a point by an officiating mistake.

Scroll to Top